Poem: Invictus

image from http://www.shopatmoxie.com

INVICTUS

By: William Ernest Henley

Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the pit from pole to pole;
I thank whatever gods may be,
for my unconquerable soul

In the fell clutch of circumstance,
I have not winced nor cried aloud;
Under the bludgeonings of chance,
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears,
Looms but the horror of the shade;
And yet the menace of the years,
Finds, and shall find me, unafraid.

It matters not how straight the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate,
I am the captain of my soul.

*Invictus means unconquerable or undefeated in Latin*

One response

  1. Pingback: Movie Quotes: Invictus « feed your mind.

Leave a Reply

