Quotes from Songs

“There’s only us, there’s only this.
Forget regret, or life is yours to miss.
No other hope, no other way,
No day but today.”
– RENT (play), No Day But Today

“Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery,
None but ourselves can free our minds.”
– Bob Marley, Redemption Song

“In every life we have some trouble,
but when you worry you make it double.
Don’t worry, be happy.”
– Bob Marley

“Remember there’s light, if you wait till the dawn,
you may walk through the clouds, but to carry on,
you’ve got to follow the sun.”
-Regine Velasquez, Listen without Prejudice

“Now you tell me who won
I see they, run (ha, ha)”
– Tupac Shakur, Hit ‘Em Up

 

Some say eat or be eaten,
Some say live and let live,
But all are agreed, as I join the stampede
You should never take more than you give.
-Elton John, Circle of Life

A dream is a wish your heart makes,
When you’re fast asleep.
In dreams you will lose your heartaches,
Whatever you wish for, you keep.
Have faith in your dreams and someday,
Your rainbows will come smiling, too.
No matter how your heart is grieving,
If you keep on believing
A dream that you wish will come true.
-Cher, A Dream Is A Wish Your Heart Makes

 

Remember there’s light if you wait till the dawn,
You may walk through the clouds
But to carry on,
You’ve got to follow the sun.
-Regine Velasquez, Follow The Sun

I’ll be there someday, I can go the distance
I will find my way, if I can be strong
I know every mile, will be worth my while.
When I go the distance, I’ll be right where I belong.
-Michael Bolton, Go The Distance

For happiness is anyone and anything at all,
That’s loved by you.
-Happiness

Regrets, I’ve had a few
But then again, too few to mention
I did what I had to do
Saw it through without exemption
–Frank Sinatra, My Way

 For what is a man, what has he got?
If not himself, then he has not.
–Frank Sinatra, My Way

Living is easy with eyes closed,
Misunderstanding all you see.
-The Beatles, We Can Work It Out

“When I’m worried, and I can’t sleep
I count my blessings, instead of sheep,
And I fall asleep, counting my blessings.
When my bank roll, is getting small,
I think of when I had none at all.
And I fall asleep, counting my blessings.”
-Jose Mari Chan

“Kaibigan, huwag kang magpapasindak.
Kaibigan, easy lang sa iyak.
Dahil wala ring mangyayari, tayo’y walang mapapala
Huwag mong pigilan ang pagbuhos ng ulan.
May panahon para maging hari, may panahon para dumapa
Dahil ang buhay natin ay sadyang ganyan,
umaaraw, umuulan.”
-Umaaraw, Umuulan by Rivermaya

If I live to be a hundred
And never see the seven wonders
That’ll be alright
If I don’t make it to the big leagues
If I never win a Grammy
I’m gonna be just fine
‘Cause I know exactly who I am
I am Rosemary’s granddaughter
The spitting image of my father
And when the day is done
My momma’s still my biggest fan
Sometimes I’m clueless and I’m clumsy
But I’ve got friends who love me
And they know just where I stand
It’s all a part of me
And that’s who I am”
– Jessica Andrews, Who I Am

“Don’t stress, relax,
let life roll of your backs.
Except for death and paying taxes,
everything in life is only for now.”
-For Now, Avenue Q

“Lovers from the past,
with poisoned smiles, all pray our love would never last
but we are trees, not vines,
you know our love is just like summertime.”
-Vivaldi’s Song, Michael Franks

“They can say anything they want to say,
try to bring me down, but I will not allow,
anyone to succeed, hanging clouds over me.
And they can try hard to make me feel that I don’t matter at all,
but I refuse to falter in what I believe, or lose faith in my dreams.
Cause there’s a light, there’s a light in me that shines brightly,
they can try, but they can’t take that away from me.”
-Mariah Carey, Can’t Take That Away

“They can do anything they want to you
If you let them in, but they won’t ever win
if you cling to your pride, and just push them aside
See I, I have learned, there’s an inner peace I own
Something in my soul, that they cannot possess
So I won’t be afraid, and the darkness will fade.
Cause there’s a light, there’s a light in me that shines brightly,
they can try, but they can’t take that away from me.”
-Mariah Carey, Can’t Take That Away

“They can say anything they want to say,
Try to bring me down,  but I won’t face the ground,
I will rise steadily sailing out of their reach,
Lord, they do try, hard to make me feel that I,
Don’t matter at all, but I refuse to falter,
In what I believe or lose faith in my dreams,
‘Cause there’s a light in me,  that shines brightly
Yes they can try but they can’t take that away from me.”
-Mariah Carey, Can’t Take That Away

Leave a Reply

