My Magic Green Glasses

A story from the book Thinking Trees and Laughing Cats (A Thinking Curriculum for Pre-School Education), a book published by the Institute for the Advancement of Philosophy for Children (IAPC). These stories are meant to be introduction stories for a philosophical discussion with children (and adults, too!). I spent two weeks in New Jersey, USA just inhaling and exhaling the philosophies of Philosophy for Children (how redundant). This is one of the books I really liked. Enjoy 🙂

photo from http://www.news.thomasnet.com


MY MAGIC GREEN GLASSES

 At breakfast time, Melissa looked through her pockets.

“What are you doing?” Catherine asked Melissa.

Melissa said, “I’m looking for my green magic glasses.  Last night I put them in my pocket.”

“What are green magic glasses?” Catherine asked.

“They are glasses that are for mealtimes.  I don’t like to eat.  So, at mealtimes, instead of eating, if I wear those glasses and just look at foods, I become full.”  Melissa said.

“Wahoo!  Who gave you those glasses?” Catherine asked.

“An old man gave me them in a dream I had about not liking to eat.”  Melissa said.

“Did it happen in your dream?  That’s just a dream.  It’s not real.” Catherine said.

“Isn’t a dream real?  If a dream isn’t real, how can I not like to eat in a dream and really not like to eat at the same time?” Melissa asked.

Click this to view the whole book (with exercises)

Leave a Reply

