Quotes: On Travel

image from http://www.travelblogexchange.com

“There are no foreign lands. It is the traveler only who is foreign.”
– Robert Louis Stevenson

“A journey is like marriage. The certain way to be wrong is to think you control it.”
-John Steinbeck

“A traveler without observation is a bird without wings.”
-Moslih Eddin Saadi

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”
-Mark Twain

“To my mind, the greatest reward and luxury of travel is to be able to experience everyday things as if for the first time, to be in a position in which almost nothing is so familiar it is taken for granted.”
-Bill Bryson

“Do not follow where the path may lead. Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail”
–Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Two roads diverged in a wood and I – I took the one less traveled by. And that has made all the difference”
–Robert Frost

“If you reject the food, ignore the customs, fear the religion and avoid the people, you might better stay at home.”
–James Michener

“I have found out that there ain’t no surer way to find out whether you like people or hate them than to travel with them.”
–Mark Twain

“Like all great travelers, I have seen more than I remember, and remember more than I have seen.”
–Benjamin Disraeli

“Travel is the only thing you buy that makes you richer.”

“What you’ve done becomes the judge of what you’re going to do – especially in other people’s minds. When you’re traveling, you are what you are right there and then. People don’t have your past to hold against you. No yesterdays on the road.”
–William Least Heat Moon

“To travel is to discover that everyone is wrong about other countries.”
–Aldous Huxley

“I preferred to be eaten by the lions in Africa than by the society.”
-Jean Beliveau (The Man Who Spent 11 Years Walking Around The World)

“Travel does what good novelists also do to the life of everyday, placing it like a picture in a frame or a gem in its setting, so that the intrinsic qualities are made more clear. Travel does this with the very stuff that everyday life is made of, giving to it the sharp contour and meaning of art.”
–Freya Stark

“I see my path, but I don’t know where it leads. Not knowing where I’m going is what inspires me to travel it.”
-Rosalia de Castro

“The whole object of travel is not to set foot on foreign land; it is at last to set foot on one’s own country as a foreign land.”
-G.K. Chesterton

“When you travel, remember that a foreign country is not designed to make you comfortable. It is designed to make its own people comfortable.”
–Clifton Fadiman

“A wise traveler never despises his own country.”
–Carlo Goldoni

“The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeing new landscapes but in having new eyes.”
–Marcel Proust

“The range of countries and trails and experiences on offer today means we can all be a Charles Darwin or an Isabella Bird.”
– Timeout Adventure

“I think one of the best ways to maximize your traveling experience is to live like a local and a tourist at the same time.”
-Paula Peralejo

“Living on Earth is expensive, but it does include a free trip around the sun every year.”
-Unknown

“The world is a book, and those who do not travel only read a page.”
-Saint Augustine

“The traveler is active – he goes strenuously in search of people, of adventure, of experience. The tourist is passive – he expects interesting things to happen to him. He goes “sight-seeing”.”
-Daniel J. Boorstin

“It is not down in any map. True places never are.”
-Herman Melville

“The traveler sees what he sees; the tourist sees what he has come to see.”
-G.K. Chesterton

“We wander for distraction; we travel for fulfillment.”
-Hillaire Belloc

“But you can travel on for ten thousand miles, and still stay where you are.”
-Harry Chapin

“Perhaps travel cannot prevent bigotry, but by demonstrating that all peoples cry, laugh, eat, worry, and die, it can introduce the idea that if we try and understand each other, we may even become friends. ”
-Maya Angelou

“All travel has its advantages. If the passenger visits better countries, he may learn to improve his own. And if fortune carries him to worse, he may learn to enjoy it.”
-Samuel Johnson

“Our happiest moments as tourists always seem to come when we stumble upon one thing while in pursuit of something else.” — Lawrence Block

“I travel light. I think the most important thing is to be in a good mood and enjoy life, wherever you are. ”
-Diane Von Furstenberg

“We travel to learn; and I have never been in any country where they did not do something better than we do it, think some thoughts better than we think, catch some inspiration from heights above our own.”
-Maria Mitchell

from BEACHED

For mine is a generation that circles the globe in search of something we haven’t tried before
So never refuse an invitation
Never resist the unfamiliar
Never fail to be polite,
and never outstay your welcome

I still believe in paradise
But now at least I know it’s not some place you can look for
Cause it’s not where you go
It’s how you feel for a moment in your life
And if you find that moment
It will last forever

FILIPINO:

“Huwag maging dayuhan sa sariling bayan.” (Do not be a foreigner in your own country.)
-Susan Calo-Medina

“I traveled to every single place in the world, on my own, on a shoestring, staying with local people everywhere I went. I wasn’t mugged, I wasn’t beaten up, I wasn’t robbed. I didn’t even get ill. So if I can do it, anyone can.”
-Graham Hughes

“I think if I could do anything in my life, my one life thing is I encourage people to go travelling, and I think that is a life worth living. Because the more people travel, the more people see the world it opens their minds and makes people less prejudice, less racist. It makes people more interested in the world and everyone in it. And less selfish as well. So yeah, get people travelling. Go out there and see this wonderful planet of ours.”
-Graham Hughes

“I want to say to not judge the world, and countries of the world, by the actions of their leaders and their governments and things like this. Most people on this planet are good people, just trying to get on with their lives, and they don’t mean you any harm.”
-Graham Hughes

image from http://www.zazzle.com

5 responses

  1. I do not know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else experiencing issues with your site.

    It appears like some of the text within your posts are running off the
    screen. Can someone else please comment and let me know if this is
    happening to them as well? This could be a problem with
    my internet browser because I’ve had this happen before.
    Kudos

  2. I have been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts in this sort of area .

    Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this web site.
    Studying this information So i am glad to exhibit that I’ve a very excellent uncanny feeling I discovered
    exactly what I needed. I so much no doubt will make certain to don?t forget this website and provides it a
    look on a relentless basis.

  3. I do accept as true with all of the ideas you’ve introduced to your
    post. They are really convincing and will definitely
    work. Still, the posts are very quick for beginners.

    May just you please prolong them a bit from subsequent time?
    Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

